Job Searching

The Labour Department provides free recruitment assistance to employers and employment services to job seekers through a network of 13 Job Centres, three industry-based recruitment centres for the catering, retail and construction industries, the Job Vacancy Processing Centre, the Telephone Employment Service Centre, the Interactive Employment Service (iES) website, Higher Education Employment Information e-Platform (HEEIP) and vacancy search terminals located in various sites throughout the territory.

For more details about Employment Services in Hong Kong, please visit:

Labour Legislation and Standards

Through an extensive programme of labour legislation, the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government (HKSARG) keeps up the momentum in enhancing employees’ rights, benefits and occupational safety and health in Hong Kong. Relevant International Labour Conventions (ILCs) are applied as the local circumstances allow. As at 2016, 41 ILCs are applied to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) covering a wide range of labour issues such as conditions of work, employment policy, employees' compensation, labour relations and occupational safety and health etc.

Employment Ordinance

The Employment Ordinance of Hong Kong provides the framework for a comprehensive code of employment. It governs the payment of wages, the termination of employment contracts and the operation of employment agencies, etc. The law provides maternity protection, paternity leave, statutory holidays, paid annual leave, sickness allowance, rest days and employment protection for qualified employees.

Trade Unions and Industrial Relations

The Law in Hong Kong also provides protection to employees participating in trade union activities. At the end of 2015, there were 874 registered trade unions in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong has a sound record of industrial relations. Labour disputes between employers and employees always can be resolved through mutual agreement. The Labour Department of Hong Kong assists employers and employees in resolving their labour disputes through the provision of conciliation service, which is free of charge.

For more details about Trade Unions and Industrial Relations in Hong Kong, please visit:

Occupational Safety and Health

Under Hong Kong’s Occupational Safety and Health Ordinance and the Factories and Industrial Undertakings Ordinance, 32 sets of regulations have been made to cover various aspects of hazardous activities in commercial premises, factories and other workplaces.

The Occupational Safety Charter of Hong Kong sets out the rights of employees to enjoy a safe working environment and the employers’ obligations to reduce the risk of accidents. Over 1200 employer and employee bodies and other organisations have subscribed voluntarily to the Charter.

For more details about Occupational Safety and Health in Hong Kong, please visit:

Employees’ Compensation

The Employees' Compensation Ordinance of Hong Kong establishes a no-fault, non-contributory employee compensation system for work injuries. It protects employees who die or sustain injury from accident arising out of and in the course of employment, or suffer from prescribed occupational diseases. All employers are required to take out employees' compensation insurance to cover their liabilities both under the Ordinance and at common law.

For more details about Employees Compensation in Hong Kong, please visit:

The Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC)

EOC is responsible for promoting equality and elimination discrimination in Hong Kong on the grounds of sex, marital status, pregnancy, disability, family status and race. It implements the anti-discrimination legislation including the Sex Discrimination Ordinance, the Disability Discrimination Ordinance, the Family Status Discrimination Ordinance, and the Race Discrimination Ordinance.

Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF)

MPF is an employment-based retirement protection system in Hong Kong. It works on the general principles of long-term savings and investment. Except for exempt persons, employees and self-employed persons who are 18 above and below 65 years of age are required to join an MPF scheme. People from overseas who enter Hong Kong for employment for not more than 13 months, or who are covered by oversea retirement schemes, are one of the exempt persons for the MPF scheme.

Employers in all industries should enroll their regular employees in an MPF scheme within the first 60 days of employment. Both employer and employee are required to make regular mandatory contributions calculated at 5% of the employee’s relevant income to an MPF scheme, subject to the minimum and maximum relevant income levels. Employees can withdraw their accrued benefits when they leave Hong Kong permanently or at their age of 65.

For more details about MPF system in Hong Kong, please visit:

General Enquiry

The 24-hour Enquiry Hotline 2717 1771 (handled by "1823") provides information on various topics of labour legislation and employment support services of Hong Kong.

求職

勞工處透過轄下的13所就業中心、三所行業性招聘中心(飲食業、零售業及建造業)、職位空缺處理中心、電話就業服務中心、「互動就業服務」網站、高等學歷就業資訊網上平台及設置於全港多個地點的空缺搜尋終端機,免費協助僱主招聘員工和為求職人士提供就業服務。

如欲了解更多香港就業服務的資訊,請瀏覽:

勞工法例及標準

透過範圍廣泛的勞工法例,香港特別行政區政府(香港特區政府)持續改善僱員權益和福利,以及職業安全與健康。相關的國際勞工公約因應本地情況而在香港實施。於2017年,適用於香港特別行政區的國際勞工公約共有41項。這些公約所涵蓋的勞工事宜甚為廣泛,包括工作條件、就業政策、僱員補償、勞資關係,以及職業安全及健康等。

僱傭條例

香港現行的《僱傭條例》訂立全面的僱傭法則,對發放工資、終止僱傭合約及經營職業介紹所等方面均有規定。該條例為符合相關規定的僱員提供多項基本福利及保障,包括生育保障、侍產假、法定假日、有薪年假、疾病津貼、休息日及僱傭保障等。

工會與勞資關係

香港勞工法例更為僱員參加工會活動提供保障。截至2016年年底,根據《職工會條例》登記的工會共有890個,包括各僱員工會、僱主工會、僱員及僱主混合工會以及職工會聯會。

本港勞資關係向來良好,僱主僱員往往都能透過協商解決他們之間的問題。勞工處為政府以外機構的僱主和僱員提供調停服務,協助勞資雙方解決勞資糾紛,達成和解。該服務並不收取任何費用。

如欲了解更多香港工會與勞資關係的資訊,請瀏覽:

職業安全與健康

香港特區政府根據《職業安全及健康條例》和《工廠及工業經營條例》制定32套規例,規管工廠、樓宇及工程建築地盤、食肆、商業處所及其他工作場所的危險活動。

《職業安全約章》列出僱員享有安全工作環境的權利和僱主負有減少意外發生的責任,超過1,200家機構,包括僱主及僱員組織,已自發地簽署該約章。

如欲了解更多香港職業安全與健康的資訊,請瀏覽:

僱員補償

《僱員補償條例》就僱員因工受傷制定一個不論過失及毋須供款的僱員補償制度。條例的目的是保障在受僱工作期間因工受傷或死亡,或患上條例指明的職業病的僱員。所有僱主必須為僱員投購僱員補償保險(俗稱「勞保」),以承擔僱主在《僱員補償條例》及普通法方面的法律責任。

如欲了解更多香港僱員補償的資訊,請瀏覽:

平等機會委員會

平等機會委員會致力於香港推廣平等,消除基於性別、婚姻狀況、懷孕、殘疾、家庭崗位及種族而產生的歧視。委員會負責執行的歧視條例包括:《性別歧視條例》、《殘疾歧視條例》、《家庭崗位歧視條例》及《種族歧視條例》。

強制性公積金計劃(強積金)

香港強積金是以僱傭為基礎及以長線儲蓄和投資增值為原則的退休保障制度。除獲豁免人士外,凡年滿18歲至未滿65歲的一般僱員、臨時僱員以及自僱人士,均須參加強積金計劃。而來港工作不超過13個月或受海外退休計劃保障的海外人士則為獲豁免人士,無須參加強積金計劃。

各行業的僱主均須安排一般僱員在受僱首60日內登記參加強積金計劃。受強積金制度涵蓋的僱員和僱主均須定期向強積金計劃作出供款,雙方的供款額均為僱員有關入息的5%,並受限於最低及最高有關入息水平。根據《強制性公積金計劃條例》的規定,計劃成員可在永久離開香港時或年滿65歲時提取其強積金計劃的累算權益。

如欲了解更多香港強積金制度的資訊,請瀏覽:

一般查詢

有關一般勞工法例及勞工處所提供的就業相關服務查詢,請使用勞工處24小時的電話諮詢服務,電話號碼:2717 1771(此熱線由「1823」接聽)。